Don’t Drink and Drive…It Will Cost You.

DUI 300x201 Dont Drink and Drive...It Will Cost You.

As Memorial Day weekend approaches, many people are heading to the shore and/or planning to attend barbeques, get-togethers and festivities throughout New Jersey.  If you have had a few drinks, do not drive. It’s always a better idea to get a designated driver or to call a taxi rather than to risk a DUI/DWI charge. The consequences of a DUI/DWI charge in New Jersey could include jail time, loss or suspension of driver’s license and, possibly, the installation of an ignition interlock device.

Statistics from the New Jersey State Police show that in 2010 there were seven fatal crashes and eight people killed during the three-day Memorial Day holiday weekend. In six of the fatal crashes, drug or alcohol impairment played a part.

DUI/DWI checkpoints are often held throughout New Jersey in an attempt to detect, identify and arrest drunk drivers. DUI/DWI checkpoints are even more prevalant during the summertime and major holiday weekends at the Jersey Shore.

When you are driving during the long holiday weekends, it is in your best interest to drive as safely and defensively as possible. Police officers will be looking for any strange driving behavior. If you are pulled over by the authorities, remember that you are legally obligated to submit to a breath test and failure to do so will result in refusal charges, which carry the same penalties as DUI/DWI offenses.

So, before you get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol, think twice.  A DUI/DWI arrest can cost you in more ways than one.  If you’re convicted of DUI/DWI in New Jersey, you could potentially receive a sentence of jail time, and will absolutely get drilled with hefty fines and the loss of your license; that’s just the beginning.  You will face exorbitant motor vehicle commission surcharges in order to restore your driver’s license and the cost of automobile insurance will break most people’s banks.  Don’t forget about the humiliation of having to hitch rides until your license is restored.

The following are the penalties for driving under the influence; they vary according to Blood Alchohol Content (BAC) level and how many times you’ve been convicted:

  • First offense with BAC of .08% but less than .10%: You’ll  lose your license for three months, pay a fine ranging from $250 to $400,  mandatory 12 to 48 hour stay at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)  with related fees, and insurance surcharges of $1,000 a year for three years.  You may also be required to spend up to 30 days in jail.
  •  First offense with BAC of .10% or higher: You’ll lose your  license for seven months up to one year, $300 to $500 fine, mandatory IDRC stay  of 12 to 48 hours with related fees, and insurance surcharges of $1,000 a year  for three years. You may also be required to spend up to 30 days in jail.
  • Second offense within 10 years of the first offense: You’ll  lose your license for at least two years, pay fines of $500 to $1,000, insurance  surcharges of $1,000 a year for three years, mandatory IDRC stay of 12 to 48  hours with related fees (or 30 days of community service), and a possible jail  stay of 48 hours to 90 days.
  • Third offense within 10 years of the second offense: You’ll  lose your license for 10 years, pay a $1,000 fine, insurance surcharges of  $1,500 a year for three years, mandatory IDRC of 12 to 48 hours with related  fees (or up to 90 days of community service), and a possible jail stay of 180  days.

Here is a guide from the New Jersey Motor Vehicles Commission with further information: http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/pdf/Violations/DI-258.PDF

If you have been arrested for a DUI/DWI in New Jersey, you need experienced legal representation. Stern Law will effectively defend your legal rights. Contact Stern Law today for a confidential consultation at 856-685-7600.

Comments are closed.